Jump to main content

EU extends sanctions regimes on Egypt and on Bosnia and Herzegovina for 1 year


The EU has extended its sanctions against Egypt for 1 year until 22 March 2020.

On 21 March 2019, the EU extended its sanctions relating to Egypt for 1 year until 22 March 2020, see the EU Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/459 and Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/468. The sanctions impose asset freezes and travel bans on persons determined to be responsible for misappropriation of Egyptian State funds, including the former President of Egypt, Mohamed Hosni Elsayed Mubarak and associated persons. The sanctions were first imposed in March 2011 in the wake of the Arab Spring, in order to support a peaceful transition to a civilian and democratic government in Egypt based on the rule of law.

On 21 March 2019, the EU also extended its sanctions in support of Bosnia and Herzegovina until 31 March 2020, see Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/467. The sanctions framework was adopted in March 2011 to enable the imposition of restrictive measures on entities and individuals whose activities undermine the sovereignty, territorial integrity, constitutional order and international personality of Bosnia and Herzegovina, seriously threaten the security situation there or undermine the Dayton Peace Agreement.


WR Sanctions Alerts provide you with updates on material developments in the country-specific sanctions programs implemented by the US, the UN, the UK, the EU and Norway. We will not provide updates on mere prolongations, without material changes, of existing sanctions programs, nor on any listings or de-listings of individuals/entities placed on implemented sanctions lists . Please note that the WR Sanctions Alerts are provided as general information and do not constitute legal advice.

Profile image of Tine Elisabeth Vigmostad
Tine Elisabeth Vigmostad
E-mail tvi@wr.no

Subscribe to newsletter and invitations